• 2014-15 USHL Regular Season Begins September 26th
  • Dubuque Fighting Saints to Host 2015 USHL/NHL Top Prospects Game
  • 35 Players From 2013-14 USHL Season Selected in 2014 NHL Draft
  • 16 USHL Alumni Picked in 2014 NHL Draft
  • USHL Fall Classic Week Set For September 15-20

Top Story

Nelson Commits to Minnesota State University, Mankato

Friday February 1, 2013

Forward Jordan Nelson of the Fargo Force has committed to begin his college career at Minnesota State University, Mankato beginning next season. (photo by mJoy Photography)

The Fargo Force announced that forward Jordan Nelson has committed to play college hockey at Minnesota State University, Mankato beginning next season.

Nelson has suited up for all 40 games for the Force this season and is fifth on the team in scoring with 26 points (15g, 11a).  Three of his goals have been game-winners, tied for the team lead, and he has also posted a plus-10 rating.  The 20-year-old recently put together a seven-game point streak which began with his first USHL career hat trick in the 4-1 win against Omaha on January 4th.  Nelson produced 10 points (7g, 3a) over the point streak and helped the Force compile a 6-1-0 record during that span.

It is the second USHL season for the native of Williston, North Dakota who recorded 18 points (7g, 11a) and plus-four rating in 53 games last year.  Nelson was selected by the Force in the first round (9th overall) of the 2011 USHL Entry Draft.

Six other current USHL players also have plans to play hockey Minnesota State University, Mankato; Carter Foguth (Muskegon Lumnberjacks), Luca Frigo (Omaha Lancers), C.J. Franklin (Sioux Falls Stampede), Zeb Knutson (Sioux Falls Stampede), Eli May (Tri-City Storm), and Mike Huntebrinker (Waterloo Black Hawks).

Minnesota State University, Mankato is a member of the WCHA and has 14 USHL alumni on the Mavericks roster this season; J.P. Burkemper (Fargo/Des Moines), Tyler Elbrecht (Omaha Lancers), Chase Grant (Fargo Force), Eriah Hayes (Waterloo Black Hawks), Zach Lehrke (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Corey Leivermann (Fargo Force), Eli Zuck (Tri-City Storm), Zach Palmquist (Waterloo Black Hawks), Max Gaede (Sioux City Musketeers), J.P. LaFontaine (Green Bay Gamblers), Matt Leitner (Fargo Force), Brett Stern (Green Bay Gamblers), Dylan Margonari (Youngstown Phantoms), and Stephon Williams (Waterloo/Sioux Falls).

In addition, the Mavericks are coached by Mike Hastings, the all-time coaching wins leader in USHL history with 529 victories he accumulated in 14 seasons behind the bench of the Omaha Lancers (1994-2008).

USHL stats – Jordan Nelson


Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 11th season as the nation's only Tier I junior hockey league in 2012-13.  With 20 NHL Draft picks on team rosters and over 250 players already committed to NCAA Division I schools this season, the USHL has emerged as the world’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.  For more information, visit us on the web at www.USHL.com or visit the League’s social media platforms, including Facebook (www.facebook.com/ushlhockey), twitter (www.twitter.com/ushl), and YouTube (www.youtube.com/ushlinteractive).  Fans can also watch USHL action all season long, live or on-demand via FASTHockey (ushl.fasthockey.com).

It’s not just hockey. It’s the USHL.

Go Back